Jerry Saltz on Kanye West’s “Bound 2”

by reneemichellestephens

Apparently I live under a rock, because I only recently discovered genius art critic Jerry Saltz. In this article, Saltz looks at Kanye West’s music video for “Bound 2”, a video which features West’s girlfriend, Kim Kardashian. This article takes an approach that no one has yet. He actually likes it.

I was unfortunately one of these quick-to-judge haters of the video, regardless of the fact that I am probably Kanye’s biggest fan. I was disappointed in its ‘lack’ of whatever I thought was missing. After reading this article, I realized Saltz is right. He discovers why people seem so uncomfortable with the video, and all of the ‘new’ uncanny aspects of West’s work.

As a Kanye West fan, I can’t believe I let myself forget that he does not do something artistic in any sense if it isn’t what he views as perfection. Saltz proves this by discussing the aspects that require a certain type of critical thinker to understand. The internet doesn’t understand because, really, Kanye West is an artistic genius and we are all witnesses.

Watch the music video and click on the link attached to the title to read Saltz’s article above and give me your input!

Jerry Saltz on Kanye West’s “Bound 2”

